Justified

Over the weekend I sat down and started formatting the book to get ready for e-publishing.  I’ve decided better to move forward with a digital format than hold out until the universe magically bestows upon me the means to print publish.  This is a stressful stage in the process because I’m beginning to look back and see a lot of work gone into the book, still considerable work to go ahead, and no real promise of recouping my expended energies.

I’m happy with the book in its “final” state.  Of course I would be happier with someone to take it over and begin proper editing and proofreading.  I have my secret weapon on the case, and he is more than willing and able, but in the end he is volunteering his time and energy for something he is not personally invested in.  I have faith, but I cannot pressure my volunteers to work harder, much less even uncoil the whip to begin cracking.

I’ve started looking into ISBNs, barcodes, and the like.  I think this will be my biggest investment hurdle to overcome before the books sees the light.  But if I’m serious about being a writer it’s time to take the reins and play the game.

Leave a Reply

