The Last Update

13698202_10210048107262663_8054615576403312013_o

I’ve been working on this book in some form or another since 2011. The events described crescendoed in the summer of 2014.  Since that time I’ve let self-doubt and fear keep the manuscript in a darkened room.  A month or so ago I realized the 2016 Leadville race was nearly upon me, and I had squandered another year  by not getting the book out into the world. I gave myself an ultimatum: publish Leadville or Bust as an ebook by August 13, 2016 or shelve it indefinitely.

Why August 13?  That’s the date of the 2016 Leadville Trail 100 MTB race.

My original intent was to put the book out on August 13 and have a small scale book release party at my home with friends and family.  I got to work on the book, rewriting, editing, and cleaning up my “final” draft.

Yesterday I finished my edits.  I put together an acknowledgement page.  I’m working on a foreword which will help with understanding the course terminology, and I still want to work up a bibliography just to cover my bases, but otherwise Leadville or Bust is finished.  All that’s left is to buy my ISBNs and upload to the internet.

At least I think that’s it.  I’m new to this so there may be roadblocks along the way.  So what I will likely do is announce the impending release of the book on August 13 and start promoting the heck out of it.

The next step will be getting it in paperback format for print-on-demand. Hopefully I can release as an ebook and POD concurrently, but if not I’m going to go with ebook as soon as possible.

I can say definitively that I will publish the book and it’s not going to be shelved.  Will it be successful on any level?  That I cannot say.  I have no publishing or marketing background so the book’s success will be based on how well it carries on social media. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed.

 

Leave a Reply

